University Patent Activity in Saxony & Thuringia
The academic patent portfolio of two federal states — 2,197 patent families filed by 17 institutions: universities, universities of applied sciences and one university hospital, from measurement technology and materials science to optics and biotechnology.
Executive Summary
Academic patenting in Saxony and Thuringia, 2013–2024.
Seventeen higher education institutions in Saxony and Thuringia — nine in Saxony and eight in Thuringia, the latter group including Universitätsklinikum Jena as a legally separate university hospital — appear as patent applicants between 2013 and 2024. Together they account for 2,197 DOCDB patent families across 4,048 individual applications. The portfolio is highly concentrated: TU Dresden alone holds 1,032 families, 47.0% of the regional total, and the four largest filers (TU Dresden, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, FSU Jena, TU Ilmenau) hold 1,701 families between them.
The two states differ in scale rather than in kind. Saxony contributes 1,648 families, Thuringia 553; four families carry applicants from both states. Filing volume was highest at the start of the period — 281 families in 2013 — and settled into a band between 156 and 185 families per year from 2017 onward. The 2024 figure of 80 families sits inside the publication-lag window and is not comparable with earlier years.
Where the portfolio is filed has changed measurably. Comparing two complete five-year windows, the share of families with a German national (DPMA) filing fell from 80.2% to 74.7%, while the share with a European (EP) filing rose from 23.1% to 30.5% and the Chinese share doubled from 3.0% to 6.1%. Across the whole period, 876 families (39.9%) contain a WO member, and 814 (37.0%) carry a second applicant.
Collaboration is dominated by one partner. Fraunhofer appears as co-applicant on 251 families — more than eleven times the next-largest single partner record. Cooperation between the regional institutions themselves is comparatively rare: 39 families carry two or more of them as joint applicants, the strongest pair being FSU Jena and Universitätsklinikum Jena with 10.
Technologically the portfolio is broad rather than specialised. Measurement is the single largest WIPO field with 415 families, followed by other special machines (262), materials and metallurgy (241) and electrical machinery (221). Individual institutions are far more focused than the aggregate: materials and metallurgy accounts for 115 of TU Bergakademie Freiberg's 236 families, optics for 81 of FSU Jena's 224.
The regional academic portfolio is one large filer plus a long tail: TU Dresden holds almost half of all families, while eight of the seventeen institutions hold fewer than 30 each. The data also shows a portfolio that has become less national over time — the EP and Chinese shares both rose between the two complete five-year windows while the DPMA share fell — and one that leans on a single external partner, Fraunhofer, for 11.4% of all families.
Institutions Ranked by Patent Families
All DOCDB families (any filing authority) on which the institution appears as applicant, 2013–2024.
Data table: Institutions ranked by patent families
| Institution | Type | State | Families | Applications | Name variants | EP filings | DE filings | Families with WO member | Co-filed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TU Dresden | University | Saxony | 1,032 | 1,911 | 55 | 285 | 833 | 399 | 407 |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | University | Saxony | 236 | 424 | 14 | 40 | 214 | 95 | 46 |
| FSU Jena | University | Thuringia | 224 | 553 | 26 | 92 | 178 | 152 | 143 |
| TU Ilmenau | University | Thuringia | 209 | 343 | 17 | 58 | 162 | 68 | 81 |
| TU Chemnitz | University | Saxony | 147 | 212 | 11 | 29 | 131 | 32 | 37 |
| Universität Leipzig | University | Saxony | 95 | 220 | 12 | 36 | 44 | 62 | 41 |
| HS Mittweida | UAS | Saxony | 71 | 77 | 5 | 2 | 69 | 4 | 10 |
| Universitätsklinikum Jena | Hospital | Thuringia | 64 | 165 | 19 | 42 | 23 | 48 | 34 |
| HTW Dresden | UAS | Saxony | 52 | 78 | 7 | 12 | 51 | 14 | 11 |
| EAH Jena | UAS | Thuringia | 31 | 46 | 8 | 10 | 27 | 6 | 14 |
| Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | University | Thuringia | 26 | 37 | 4 | 4 | 20 | 10 | 10 |
| WH Zwickau | UAS | Saxony | 20 | 26 | 4 | 8 | 14 | 1 | 9 |
| HTWK Leipzig | UAS | Saxony | 12 | 12 | 6 | 1 | 11 | 1 | 6 |
| HS Nordhausen | UAS | Thuringia | 7 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 4 |
| HS Zittau/Görlitz | UAS | Saxony | 5 | 7 | 4 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 2 |
| HS Schmalkalden | UAS | Thuringia | 4 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| FH Erfurt | UAS | Thuringia | 3 | 6 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 |
| Saxony (distinct) | Saxony | 1,648 | 2,926 | 118 | 408 | 1,352 | 602 | 547 | |
| Thuringia (distinct) | Thuringia | 553 | 1,127 | 81 | 199 | 413 | 275 | 271 | |
| All institutions (distinct) | both | 2,197 | 4,048 | 199 | 605 | 1,763 | 876 | 814 |
Why the column does not add up
The seventeen institution rows sum to 2,238 families, against a distinct total of 2,197. The difference of 41 families is families filed jointly by two or more of the institutions in scope — each is counted once per institution in its own row, and once in the total. The same effect explains the state rows: 1,648 + 553 = 2,201, four more than 2,197, because four families carry applicants from both Saxony and Thuringia.
TU Dresden holds 47.0% of all regional academic patent families (1,032 of 2,197) and 47.2% of all applications. The second tier — TU Bergakademie Freiberg (236), FSU Jena (224) and TU Ilmenau (209) — is close together, and the gap to TU Dresden is more than a factor of four. Eight institutions hold fewer than 30 families each over twelve years.
Filing routes differ sharply by institution. FSU Jena reaches abroad most consistently: 152 of its 224 families (67.9%) contain a WO member and 92 (41.1%) have an EP filing. HS Mittweida sits at the other end — 69 of its 71 families have a German filing and only 4 contain a WO member. Universitätsklinikum Jena is the only institution whose EP filings (42) outnumber its German ones (23).
Annual Filing Trends
Each family is counted once, in the earliest filing year of any of its applications in scope. The yearly figures therefore sum exactly to the 2,197 families in the portfolio.
Data table: Families per first filing year
| Year | Total families | Saxony | Thuringia | Co-filed families | Co-filing share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | 281 | 203 | 78 | 123 | 43.8% |
| 2014 | 234 | 175 | 59 | 82 | 35.0% |
| 2015 | 217 | 162 | 57 | 72 | 33.2% |
| 2016 | 222 | 157 | 65 | 96 | 43.2% |
| 2017 | 163 | 109 | 54 | 60 | 36.8% |
| 2018 | 156 | 111 | 45 | 75 | 48.1% |
| 2019 | 167 | 137 | 31 | 46 | 27.5% |
| 2020 | 185 | 145 | 40 | 70 | 37.8% |
| 2021 | 160 | 129 | 31 | 59 | 36.9% |
| 2022 | 171 | 134 | 37 | 57 | 33.3% |
| 2023 | 161 | 122 | 40 | 51 | 31.7% |
| 2024* | 80 | 64 | 16 | 23 | 28.8% |
| Total | 2,197 | 1,648 | 553 | 814 | 37.0% |
* 2024, and to a lesser degree 2023, are incomplete: PATSTAT reflects published documents, and publication follows filing by roughly 18 months (PATSTAT Global, Spring 2026). The state columns sum to four more than the total across the period because four families carry applicants from both states and appear in both series.
Data table: Annual families for the six largest filers
| Institution | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024* | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TU Dresden | 135 | 120 | 98 | 96 | 69 | 67 | 91 | 75 | 76 | 91 | 72 | 42 | 1,032 |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 27 | 20 | 19 | 29 | 18 | 13 | 17 | 28 | 23 | 18 | 17 | 7 | 236 |
| FSU Jena | 31 | 25 | 24 | 26 | 21 | 20 | 12 | 18 | 12 | 13 | 17 | 5 | 224 |
| TU Ilmenau | 34 | 22 | 19 | 23 | 22 | 20 | 14 | 16 | 11 | 12 | 9 | 7 | 209 |
| TU Chemnitz | 16 | 17 | 17 | 16 | 7 | 11 | 11 | 8 | 16 | 8 | 14 | 6 | 147 |
| Universität Leipzig | 14 | 13 | 12 | 4 | 6 | 14 | 3 | 10 | 6 | 4 | 9 | 0 | 95 |
* 2024 is incomplete (publication delay). Per-institution years use the earliest filing year of that institution's own applications in the family, so each row sums to that institution's total.
Regional academic filing volume was at its highest at the start of the period and has not returned to that level. 2013 to 2017 saw filings fall from 281 to 163 families — a drop of 42.0% over four years — after which the series moves within a narrow band of 156 to 185 families per year through 2023. Excluding the incomplete 2024, the last five complete years (2019–2023) average 168.8 families against 223.4 for 2013–2017.
The decline is not evenly shared. Thuringia fell from 78 families in 2013 to 31 in 2019 and has stayed between 31 and 45 since; Saxony fell from 203 to 109 by 2017 but recovered to 122–145 in 2019–2023. TU Dresden shows the same pattern within Saxony — 135 families in 2013, a low of 67 in 2018, then 72–91 per year. One possible explanation is a change in filing practice rather than in research output, but the data in this report does not distinguish the two.
Technology Profile
WIPO 35 technology fields, assigned from the IPC codes of the institutions' applications and counted at family level.
Data table: Top 15 WIPO technology fields
| WIPO field | WIPO sector | Families | Share of 2,197 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Measurement | Instruments | 415 | 18.9% |
| Other special machines | Mechanical engineering | 262 | 11.9% |
| Materials, metallurgy | Chemistry | 241 | 11.0% |
| Electrical machinery, apparatus, energy | Electrical engineering | 221 | 10.1% |
| Medical technology | Instruments | 175 | 8.0% |
| Machine tools | Mechanical engineering | 174 | 7.9% |
| Biotechnology | Chemistry | 170 | 7.7% |
| Optics | Instruments | 166 | 7.6% |
| Semiconductors | Electrical engineering | 139 | 6.3% |
| Computer technology | Electrical engineering | 130 | 5.9% |
| Chemical engineering | Chemistry | 129 | 5.9% |
| Pharmaceuticals | Chemistry | 119 | 5.4% |
| Surface technology, coating | Chemistry | 105 | 4.8% |
| Analysis of biological materials | Instruments | 102 | 4.6% |
| Transport | Mechanical engineering | 97 | 4.4% |
Data table: WIPO sectors
| WIPO sector | Families | Share of 2,197 |
|---|---|---|
| Chemistry | 808 | 36.8% |
| Mechanical engineering | 770 | 35.0% |
| Instruments | 742 | 33.8% |
| Electrical engineering | 578 | 26.3% |
| Other fields | 139 | 6.3% |
| Sum of sectors | 3,037 | 138.2% |
Sector and field totals are non-exclusive
A patent family carries several IPC symbols and is therefore assigned to several WIPO fields and, through them, to several sectors. The five sector values sum to 3,037 against 2,197 distinct families — an average of 1.38 sector memberships per family. Neither the field nor the sector figures are parts of a whole, which is why they are shown as bars and not as a pie or doughnut.
Measurement is the single largest field with 415 families, 18.9% of the portfolio and 58% larger than the next field. At sector level the portfolio is unusually even: chemistry (808), mechanical engineering (770) and instruments (742) are within 9% of each other, and only electrical engineering (578) and other fields (139) fall clearly behind. The aggregate therefore has no single technological centre — the specialisation appears only when the institutions are looked at individually.
Technology Specialization by Institution
The three largest WIPO technology fields of each institution with at least 50 patent families, with the share of that institution's own portfolio.
| Institution | Families | Largest field | Second | Third |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TU Dresden | 1,032 | Measurement — 183 (17.7%) | Other special machines — 136 (13.2%) | Electrical machinery — 121 (11.7%) |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 236 | Materials, metallurgy — 115 (48.7%) | Chemical engineering — 34 (14.4%) | Other special machines — 27 (11.4%) |
| FSU Jena | 224 | Optics — 81 (36.2%) | Measurement — 59 (26.3%) | Electrical machinery — 29 (12.9%) |
| TU Ilmenau | 209 | Measurement — 73 (34.9%) | Electrical machinery — 23 (11.0%) | Computer technology — 21 (10.0%) |
| TU Chemnitz | 147 | Machine tools — 39 (26.5%) | Other special machines — 24 (16.3%) | Mechanical elements — 18 (12.2%) |
| Universität Leipzig | 95 | Biotechnology — 37 (38.9%) | Pharmaceuticals — 24 (25.3%) | Measurement — 20 (21.1%) |
| HS Mittweida | 71 | Machine tools — 22 (31.0%) | Other special machines — 15 (21.1%) | Materials, metallurgy — 14 (19.7%) |
| Universitätsklinikum Jena | 64 | Medical technology — 19 (29.7%) | Biotechnology — 17 (26.6%) | Pharmaceuticals — 17 (26.6%) |
| HTW Dresden | 52 | Other special machines — 20 (38.5%) | Transport — 14 (26.9%) | Measurement — 13 (25.0%) |
Percentages are shares of the institution's own family count. Because families carry several WIPO fields, the three shares in a row can exceed 100%. Cell shading marks the share band: 35% and above, 15–34%, below 15%.
The individual portfolios are far more concentrated than the aggregate. Materials and metallurgy accounts for 48.7% of TU Bergakademie Freiberg's families, biotechnology for 38.9% of Universität Leipzig's, optics for 36.2% of FSU Jena's and measurement for 34.9% of TU Ilmenau's. TU Dresden is the exception: its largest field, measurement, reaches only 17.7% of its own portfolio — the profile of a filer whose volume spans the whole technical spectrum rather than one field.
Measurement is the connective tissue of the region. It appears in the top three of five of the nine institutions shown — TU Dresden, FSU Jena, TU Ilmenau, Universität Leipzig and HTW Dresden — and is the largest field for two of them. No other field recurs across as many institutions.
Collaboration Network
Co-applicants are read from the same applications the institutions filed, joined at application level. Partners are classified against the same harmonisation rules used to build the scope, so a regional institution never appears as its own partner.
Data table: External co-applicants with six or more joint families
| Partner (harmonised name) | Country | Joint families |
|---|---|---|
| Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung | DE | 251 |
| Siemens AG | DE | 22 |
| Leibniz-Institut für Photonische Technologien (IPHT), Jena | DE | 22 |
| Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V. | DE | 21 |
| Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V. | DE | 11 |
| thyssenkrupp Steel Europe AG | DE | 9 |
| Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden e.V. | DE | 9 |
| Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (second spelling variant) | — | 9 |
| Leichtbau-Zentrum Sachsen GmbH | DE | 9 |
| INSERM — Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale | FR | 8 |
| GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH | DE | 8 |
| CNRS | FR | 7 |
| Leibniz-Institut für Photonische Technologien (second spelling variant) | DE | 7 |
| Audi AG | DE | 6 |
| Leibniz-Institut für Festkörper- und Werkstoffforschung Dresden | DE | 6 |
| JenaBatteries GmbH | DE | 6 |
| SurFunction GmbH | DE | 6 |
| 2MH Glas GmbH | DE | 6 |
The chart shows the fourteen largest partner records; the table lists all eighteen partners with six or more joint families.
Partner names are harmonised by PATSTAT, not by this report
The partner rows use PATSTAT's han_name. That harmonisation is imperfect and can
split one organisation across spellings: Fraunhofer appears under a second variant with 9
further families and the Jena photonics institute under a second variant with 7. Because the
two variants may share families, their counts cannot simply be added, so each is shown as
measured. The chart therefore understates the true Fraunhofer and Leibniz IPHT figures by
somewhere between zero and the size of the second variant.
Cooperation between the regional institutions
Thirty-nine families carry two or more of the seventeen institutions as joint applicants. Because both sides run through the same harmonisation rules, these are genuine institution-to-institution filings, not two spellings of the same university.
| Institution A | Institution B | Joint families |
|---|---|---|
| FSU Jena | Universitätsklinikum Jena | 10 |
| TU Dresden | Universität Leipzig | 7 |
| HTW Dresden | TU Dresden | 5 |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | TU Dresden | 4 |
| EAH Jena | TU Ilmenau | 2 |
| Universität Leipzig | Universitätsklinikum Jena | 2 |
| TU Ilmenau | Universitätsklinikum Jena | 2 |
| Eleven further pairs | — | 1 each |
The pair counts sum to 43 while only 39 distinct families are involved: a family filed by three institutions contributes to three pairs.
Data table: Sector of the external co-applicants
| Partner sector (PATSTAT psn_sector) | Families with such a partner |
|---|---|
| Government / non-profit research | 371 |
| Company | 282 |
| Unknown | 149 |
| University (outside the region) | 80 |
| Individual | 31 |
| Company and government / non-profit | 5 |
| Unclassified (blank) | 5 |
| Government / non-profit and hospital | 1 |
| Hospital | 1 |
| Families with at least one external partner | 771 |
The sector rows sum to 925 against 771 families because a family can carry partners from several sectors. This table has no chart; the sector split above is the accessible presentation of the same data.
771 of 2,197 families (35.1%) carry at least one external co-applicant, and Fraunhofer alone accounts for 251 of them — 32.6% of all externally co-filed families and 11.4% of the entire portfolio. The next-largest single partner record reaches 22. No other relationship in this dataset comes close.
The institutions collaborate outward far more than with each other. Only 39 families (1.8% of the portfolio) join two or more of the seventeen institutions, against 771 with an external partner. The densest internal link is between FSU Jena and Universitätsklinikum Jena (10 families), which is consistent with their being one academic site under two legal entities.
The Non-University Research Ecosystem
The four large German research organisations, measured on a different basis from the rest of this report: EP applications 2013–2024 with at least one inventor geocoded to Saxony (NUTS DED) or Thuringia (NUTS DEG), on which the organisation is an applicant.
Data table: Research organisations with regionally geocoded inventors
| Organisation | Saxony (DED) | Thuringia (DEG) | Share of the state's EP output |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft | 481 | 273 | 6.7% / 6.5% |
| Leibniz-Gemeinschaft | 104 | 59 | 1.5% / 1.4% |
| Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft | 77 | 10 | 1.1% / 0.2% |
| Max-Planck-Gesellschaft | 62 | 17 | 0.9% / 0.4% |
| DLR | 6 | 9 | 0.1% / 0.2% |
| All EP families with a regional inventor | 7,171 | 4,226 | 100% / 100% |
A different measurement basis from the rest of the report
The university figures elsewhere in this report are name-based and cover every filing office. This section is inventor-location-based and EP-only, because regional geocoding in PATSTAT exists on EP person records and not on German national ones. The two figures are not comparable and must not be added: a Fraunhofer institute in Dresden is counted here through the residence of its inventors, a university through its own name as applicant.
Fraunhofer is by a wide margin the largest non-university research applicant in both states — 481 EP families with a Saxon inventor and 273 with a Thuringian one, roughly 4.6 times the Leibniz figure in Saxony. It is also the dominant co-applicant of the universities themselves (251 joint families), which places the same organisation at both ends of the regional research relationship.
The two states have different non-university profiles. Helmholtz is a Saxon phenomenon in this data — 77 families against 10 in Thuringia, consistent with the Dresden-Rossendorf site — while DLR is the only one of the five with more Thuringian than Saxon families (9 against 6). Leibniz is the most evenly distributed of the large organisations (104 / 59).
Filing Strategy and Geography
Where the seventeen institutions file. A family is counted at an office if at least one of its applications was filed there by one of the institutions.
Data table: Filing offices over the full period
| Office | Families | Share of 2,197 |
|---|---|---|
| DE — Germany (DPMA) | 1,763 | 80.2% |
| WO — PCT (filed by an institution) | 755 | 34.4% |
| EP — European Patent Office | 605 | 27.5% |
| US — United States | 353 | 16.1% |
| CN — China | 100 | 4.6% |
| CA — Canada | 65 | 3.0% |
| KR — South Korea | 56 | 2.5% |
| ES — Spain | 40 | 1.8% |
| AU — Australia | 25 | 1.1% |
| PL — Poland | 22 | 1.0% |
| TW — Taiwan | 21 | 1.0% |
| BR — Brazil | 15 | 0.7% |
Data table: Office shares in two complete five-year windows
| Office | 2013–2017 families | Share | 2018–2022 families | Share | Change in share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DE | 896 | 80.2% | 677 | 74.7% | −5.5 pp |
| WO | 326 | 29.2% | 308 | 34.0% | +4.8 pp |
| EP | 258 | 23.1% | 276 | 30.5% | +7.4 pp |
| US | 173 | 15.5% | 172 | 19.0% | +3.5 pp |
| CN | 34 | 3.0% | 55 | 6.1% | +3.1 pp |
| CA | 28 | 2.5% | 35 | 3.9% | +1.4 pp |
| KR | 23 | 2.1% | 24 | 2.6% | +0.5 pp |
| Families in the window | 1,117 | 100% | 906 | 100% | — |
The two windows are 2013–2017 and 2018–2022. 2023 and 2024 are deliberately excluded: they lie inside the publication-lag window, and a period boundary placed there turns publication delay into an apparent trend. A family with filings in both windows is counted in both.
Four in five families take the German national route — 1,763 of 2,197 have a DPMA filing — which is the classic German university priority-filing pattern. Beyond that, 755 families carry a PCT application filed by an institution itself, and 605 reach the EPO. Counting all members of a family, not only those the institutions filed, 876 families (39.9%) contain a WO member.
The portfolio internationalised between the two complete windows. The DPMA share fell 5.5 percentage points while EP gained 7.4, WO 4.8, the US 3.5 and China 3.1 — and China doubled in absolute terms, from 34 to 55 families, in a window whose total family count fell from 1,117 to 906. The pattern is consistent across every non-German office in the table; no office moved in the opposite direction.
Grant Rates
Applications filed 2013–2020 only, so that each cohort has had at least five years to complete examination. Grant is an application-level outcome, so this section counts applications, not families.
Data table: Grant rate by office, applications filed 2013–2020
| Office | Applications 2013–2020 | Granted | Grant rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| ES — Spain | 39 | 38 | 97.4% |
| KR — South Korea | 41 | 30 | 73.2% |
| US — United States | 277 | 187 | 67.5% |
| EP — European Patent Office | 448 | 267 | 59.6% |
| DE — Germany (DPMA) | 1,356 | 638 | 47.1% |
| CN — China | 68 | 31 | 45.6% |
| CA — Canada | 44 | 16 | 36.4% |
| WO — PCT phase | 510 | 27 | not applicable |
Two reasons a grant rate can mislead
- PCT applications never grant. A WO application is an international phase, not a patent. Its 510 applications are shown for completeness but excluded from every rate in this section, including the per-institution table below — otherwise institutions that use the PCT route heavily would appear to fail examination.
- Pendency. Applications filed after 2020 are excluded entirely. Even inside the 2013–2020 cohort, the later years are still partly pending, so every rate here is a lower bound rather than a final outcome.
Grant rate by institution
Restricted to German and European applications, the two routes on which all seventeen institutions are present. Across all of them, 905 of 1,804 applications filed 2013–2020 at DE or EP were granted — a rate of 50.2%.
| Institution | DE + EP applications 2013–2020 | Granted | Grant rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| TU Dresden | 838 | 440 | 52.5% |
| FSU Jena | 216 | 80 | 37.0% |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 185 | 107 | 57.8% |
| TU Ilmenau | 182 | 90 | 49.5% |
| TU Chemnitz | 111 | 57 | 51.4% |
| Universität Leipzig | 82 | 24 | 29.3% |
| HS Mittweida | 51 | 27 | 52.9% |
| Universitätsklinikum Jena | 50 | 19 | 38.0% |
| HTW Dresden | 44 | 26 | 59.1% |
| EAH Jena | 26 | 15 | 57.7% |
| Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | 20 | 9 | 45.0% |
| WH Zwickau | 17 | 13 | 76.5% |
| Five institutions with fewer than 10 applications | 24 | 16 | not reported |
| All institutions | 1,804 | 905 | 50.2% |
Rates are not reported for institutions with fewer than 10 applications in the cohort (HTWK Leipzig, HS Nordhausen, HS Zittau/Görlitz, HS Schmalkalden, FH Erfurt): a single decision would move such a rate by more than ten percentage points. Institution rows sum to more than the total where an application is filed jointly. Cell shading: 55% and above, 45–54%, below 45%.
The European route grants more often than the German one — 59.6% at the EPO against 47.1% at the DPMA for the same 2013–2020 cohort. The United States is higher still at 67.5%. One consistent reading is selection: a family only reaches the EPO or the USPTO after the applicant has decided it is worth the additional cost, whereas the German filing is often the first and cheapest step. The data shows the difference but cannot establish the cause.
Across the twelve institutions with a reportable cohort the grant rate ranges from 29.3% to 76.5%, against an overall 50.2%. The two life-science heavy portfolios sit at the bottom — Universität Leipzig 29.3% and Universitätsklinikum Jena 38.0% — while TU Bergakademie Freiberg (57.8%), HTW Dresden (59.1%) and EAH Jena (57.7%) sit at the top. WH Zwickau's 76.5% rests on 17 applications and should be read as an indication only.
Most Prolific Inventors
Inventors named on at least 20 of the institutions' patent families, 2013–2024. Names are upper-cased before counting so that the same person is not split across spelling variants.
Data table: Inventors on 20 or more patent families
| Inventor | Institution | Families | Share of that institution's portfolio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cherif, Chokri | TU Dresden | 49 | 4.7% |
| Leo, Karl | TU Dresden | 39 | 3.8% |
| Hufenbach, Werner | TU Dresden | 32 | 3.1% |
| Kleemann, Hans | TU Dresden | 29 | 2.8% |
| Aneziris, Christos | TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 28 | 11.9% |
| Hesse, Ullrich | TU Dresden | 27 | 2.6% |
| Kaskel, Stefan | TU Dresden | 26 | 2.5% |
| Limpert, Jens | FSU Jena | 23 | 10.3% |
| Plettemeier, Dirk | TU Dresden | 21 | 2.0% |
| Kroke, Edwin | TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 21 | 8.9% |
| Curbach, Manfred | TU Dresden | 21 | 2.0% |
| Schubert, Ulrich Sigmar | FSU Jena | 20 | 8.9% |
PATSTAT does not resolve inventor identity
PATSTAT stores inventor names as text and performs no entity resolution: the same researcher appears under several records differing in case, transliteration or middle names. Upper-casing the name removes the most common of these differences — for one inventor above it merged three records that would otherwise have been reported as three separate people — but it cannot resolve initials against full names, nor distinguish two different people who share a name. For that reason this report gives the leading names and their family counts, and does not report a total number of inventors per institution.
Eight of the twelve most prolific inventors work at TU Dresden, which matches its share of the portfolio. What differs is weight: 49 families is 4.7% of TU Dresden's 1,032, while Christos Aneziris's 28 families are 11.9% of TU Bergakademie Freiberg's 236 and Jens Limpert's 23 are 10.3% of FSU Jena's 224. In the smaller portfolios a single research group carries a visible share of everything the institution files.
Citation Impact
Forward citations: how often later patent publications cite a publication belonging to one of the institutions' families. Counted across all members of the family, all citing offices.
Data table: Citation distribution
| Forward citations received | Families | Share of 2,197 |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 969 | 44.1% |
| 1–4 | 755 | 34.4% |
| 5–19 | 372 | 16.9% |
| 20–49 | 74 | 3.4% |
| 50 or more | 27 | 1.2% |
| At least one citation | 1,228 | 55.9% |
Data table: Citations by institution
| Institution | Families | Cited at least once | Cited share | Total citations | Per cited family |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TU Dresden | 1,032 | 594 | 57.6% | 4,539 | 7.6 |
| FSU Jena | 224 | 145 | 64.7% | 1,244 | 8.6 |
| TU Ilmenau | 209 | 131 | 62.7% | 1,002 | 7.6 |
| TU Bergakademie Freiberg | 236 | 124 | 52.5% | 557 | 4.5 |
| TU Chemnitz | 147 | 66 | 44.9% | 583 | 8.8 |
| Universität Leipzig | 95 | 52 | 54.7% | 767 | 14.8 |
| Universitätsklinikum Jena | 64 | 37 | 57.8% | 341 | 9.2 |
| HTW Dresden | 52 | 30 | 57.7% | 236 | 7.9 |
| HS Mittweida | 71 | 21 | 29.6% | 45 | 2.1 |
| EAH Jena | 31 | 15 | 48.4% | 38 | 2.5 |
| WH Zwickau | 20 | 15 | 75.0% | 48 | 3.2 |
| Bauhaus-Universität Weimar | 26 | 10 | 38.5% | 19 | 1.9 |
| HTWK Leipzig | 12 | 5 | 41.7% | 18 | 3.6 |
| All institutions (distinct) | 2,197 | 1,228 | 55.9% | 9,225 | 7.5 |
Four institutions with fewer than five cited families are omitted from the table (FH Erfurt, HS Schmalkalden, HS Zittau/Görlitz, HS Nordhausen). Institution rows sum to 1,250 cited families against 1,228 distinct, because jointly filed families count for each institution. Older families have had longer to accumulate citations, so figures for the last years of the period are systematically lower.
1,228 of 2,197 families (55.9%) have been cited at least once, together receiving 9,225 citations. The distribution is steeply skewed: the 101 families with 20 or more citations are 4.6% of the portfolio, while 969 families have never been cited. An average of 7.5 citations per cited family therefore describes almost none of the individual families.
Citation intensity does not follow portfolio size. Universität Leipzig has 95 families but averages 14.8 citations per cited family, nearly twice TU Dresden's 7.6 across 1,032. FSU Jena has both the highest cited share among the large filers (64.7%) and an above-average intensity (8.6). At the other end, HS Mittweida's 71 families produced 45 citations in total — a portfolio filed almost entirely at the DPMA, where fewer citing documents exist to be counted.
Regional Context
Where in Saxony and Thuringia inventive activity is located, and how large the academic share of it is. Basis: EP applications filed 2013–2024 with at least one inventor geocoded to a district in NUTS region DED (Saxony) or DEG (Thuringia).
Data table: Top 12 districts by EP families with a local inventor
| NUTS 3 | District | State | EP families |
|---|---|---|---|
| DED21 | Dresden, Kreisfreie Stadt | Saxony | 3,086 |
| DEG03 | Jena, Kreisfreie Stadt | Thuringia | 1,346 |
| DED51 | Leipzig, Kreisfreie Stadt | Saxony | 991 |
| DED41 | Chemnitz, Kreisfreie Stadt | Saxony | 688 |
| DED43 | Mittelsachsen | Saxony | 614 |
| DED2E | Meißen | Saxony | 608 |
| DED2F | Sächsische Schweiz-Osterzgebirge | Saxony | 557 |
| DEG01 | Erfurt, Kreisfreie Stadt | Thuringia | 488 |
| DED42 | Erzgebirgskreis | Saxony | 472 |
| DED2C | Bautzen | Saxony | 460 |
| DED45 | Zwickau | Saxony | 454 |
| DED52 | Leipzig, Landkreis | Saxony | 374 |
| DED | Saxony, all districts | Saxony | 7,171 |
| DEG | Thuringia, all districts | Thuringia | 4,226 |
| DED + DEG | Both states, distinct | both | 11,142 |
Data table: Applicant sector on EP families with a regional inventor
| Applicant sector | Saxony | Share of 7,171 | Thuringia | Share of 4,226 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Company | 4,867 | 67.9% | 3,033 | 71.8% |
| Unknown | 1,315 | 18.3% | 714 | 16.9% |
| Government / non-profit research | 677 | 9.4% | 358 | 8.5% |
| University | 496 | 6.9% | 219 | 5.2% |
| Individual | 245 | 3.4% | 156 | 3.7% |
| Mixed and other sectors | 15 | 0.2% | 2 | 0.0% |
Sector labels are PATSTAT's psn_sector. A family with several applicants appears in
several rows, so the columns sum to more than the state total. "Unknown" is a PATSTAT value, not
a residual computed here.
What this basis can and cannot see
Regional geocoding in PATSTAT is populated on EP person records; German national (DPMA) records carry no district-level NUTS code. This section therefore counts EP filings only, and any organisation that never files at the EPO is invisible in it. That is the opposite bias to the rest of the report, where the institutions are found by name and four in five of their families run through the DPMA. The 11,142 regional EP families and the 2,197 university families are two different measurements and must not be compared directly.
Dresden alone accounts for 43.0% of Saxony's EP families (3,086 of 7,171) and Jena for 31.9% of Thuringia's (1,346 of 4,226). Both are the seats of the largest filers in this report. Beyond the four large cities the distribution is remarkably flat: eight further districts lie between 374 and 614 families, with no second cluster.
Academic applicants are a small share of regional EP output. Universities appear on 6.9% of Saxony's and 5.2% of Thuringia's EP families, and government or non-profit research institutes on a further 9.4% and 8.5%. Companies carry roughly seven in ten in both states. The academic contribution is best read as a research input into a company-dominated regional portfolio rather than as its main body.
Methodology
Search strategy, data basis, and known limitations.
Data currency. All figures in this report were computed on
15 August 2026 against EPO PATSTAT Global, Spring 2026
(patstat-mtc.patstat_2026a), with classification titles from
IPC edition 20260101 and CPC edition 202608. Patent counts
shift with every PATSTAT release; figures computed on a different edition are not directly
comparable with these.
Search strategy, entity harmonisation, family counting and data source
How the seventeen institutions were identified
This is an applicant-name study, not a classification study. There is no code list; the scope is a set of applicant name variants, and the whole risk sits in getting that set right.
-
Discovery, regional. All person records in
tls206_personwhose NUTS code falls in DED (Saxony) or DEG (Thuringia) atnuts_level3 or 4 and whose name contains a higher-education term. This returned 62 distinct name/harmonised-name pairs and fixed the list of institutions that exist in the region. -
Discovery, national. Because German national (DPMA) person records carry no
district-level NUTS code, a second pass searched all of
tls206_personfor names combining a higher-education term with one of the university towns of the two states. This is where the bulk of the variants live. -
Assignment. Each variant is mapped to an institution by an explicit rule set
on the upper-cased, umlaut-folded
person_name— for example "contains DRESDE and contains UNIV" for TU Dresden. The same rule set is applied unchanged in every query of this report and to both sides of the co-applicant analysis. - Result. 199 distinct name variants were kept across the seventeen institutions, from 55 for TU Dresden down to 2 each for HS Nordhausen and HS Schmalkalden. The variants include case differences, umlaut transliterations, English and French names, official long forms ending in "Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts", and scanning artefacts such as "TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITU T DRESDEN" or "TCHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT DRESDEN".
Why the scope is built on person_name and not on han_name
PATSTAT's harmonised applicant name han_name was used as a cross-check in both
directions, never as the basis of the scope. Two measured defects made that necessary:
-
TECHNISCHE HOCHSCHULE ILMENAU DEis also carried by Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt (25 families across two spellings) and Technische Hochschule Köln (4). Building a Thuringian scope on that harmonised name would have imported two institutions from Bavaria and North Rhine-Westphalia. -
Records of Universitätsklinikum Jena appear under the harmonised name
FRIEDRICH SCHILLER UNIVERSITAT JENA, and further Jena hospital records underUNIV JENA KORPERSCHAFT DES OFFENTLICHEN RECHTS— three different harmonised names for two legal entities. -
Running the check the other way — which regionally harmonised records the name rules
miss — found two genuine gaps: the city-less variants "Technische Universität"
(3 families, harmonised to TU Dresden) and "FRIEDRICH-SCHILLER-UNIVERSITAET" (3 families,
harmonised to FSU Jena). Both are included through a narrow
han_namefallback limited to those two harmonised values, each of which was verified to carry no out-of-region records.
What was deliberately excluded, and why
- Affiliated institutes ("An-Institute"). Organisations whose name contains the construction "… an der <Hochschule>" are legally independent bodies with their own applicant identity, not parts of the university. Excluded: Materialforschungs- und -prüfanstalt an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar (13 families across two records), Forschungs- und Transferzentrum Leipzig e.V. an der HTWK (several records, the largest with 4 families), the Forschungs- und Transferzentrum an der Westsächsischen Hochschule Zwickau, the Sächsisches Institut für Angewandte Biotechnologie an der HS Zittau/Görlitz, and IPM an der HS Zittau/Görlitz.
- Municipal and non-university hospitals. Klinikum Chemnitz gGmbH and Städtisches Klinikum Dresden-Friedrichstadt carry no university status and are excluded. Carl Gustav Carus Management GmbH (3 families) is a service company, not the university hospital, and is likewise excluded.
- University hospitals with their own legal personality are included as separate institutions. Universitätsklinikum Jena is an Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts distinct from Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena and is reported as its own row, with their joint filings shown as cooperation (10 families). No comparable separate applicant record exists for the Dresden university hospital: filings from the Dresden medical faculty appear under the TU Dresden name and are counted there.
- Named individuals. Records of the form "Surname, Firstname" — including "MOLLENHAUER, Juergen, University of Jena" and "Rehkopf, Andreas, Prof. c/o TU Bergakademie" — are inventors filing in their own name and are excluded from institutional counts.
- Universities of applied sciences are included. HS Mittweida, HTW Dresden, HTWK Leipzig, WH Zwickau, HS Zittau/Görlitz, EAH Jena, HS Nordhausen, HS Schmalkalden and FH Erfurt are state higher-education institutions in the two states and are part of the academic portfolio being measured.
Classification scope
The patent set in this report is not derived from IPC or CPC codes, so the
three code-set completion steps — subtree expansion, union of predecessor symbols, retention of
deprecated symbols — do not apply to it and were not performed. Classification is used only
downstream, to describe a set that was already fixed by applicant name: the technology profile
maps each application's IPC symbols to the WIPO 35 technology fields via
tls230_appln_techn_field. No filter on is_active was applied anywhere.
The classification editions in force are IPC 20260101 and CPC 202608.
Family counting
- All headline counts are DOCDB patent families (
docdb_family_id), so one invention filed in several countries counts once. - Pseudo-families (
docdb_family_id = 0) are excluded. - Annual figures assign each family to the earliest filing year among the institution's own applications in it. The twelve yearly values therefore sum exactly to 2,197.
- The PCT rate counts families in which any member — including members not filed by
an institution — has
appln_auth = 'WO': 876 families, 39.9%. The narrower figure of 755 families with a WO application filed by an institution itself is reported separately in the filing-strategy section. - Grant is an application-level event and is reported on applications, never on families, and only for the 2013–2020 filing cohort.
Intellectual property rights included
Both patent applications and utility models are included, because excluding utility models would silently drop genuine filings by these institutions. The measured split is 3,986 patent applications (2,146 families) and 62 utility models (62 families) — utility models are 1.5% of applications and 2.8% of families. The two family figures sum to 2,208 rather than 2,197 because 11 families contain both a patent application and a utility model: the institution filed a Gebrauchsmuster alongside the patent for the same invention. TU Chemnitz (19) and HS Mittweida (19) account for 61% of all utility models between them. No designs occur in the scope.
Multi-assignment note
Several tables in this report deliberately sum above the total family count, and this is correct rather than an error. A family can carry several IPC symbols and therefore several WIPO fields and sectors (the five sectors sum to 3,037 against 2,197 families); it can carry applicants from several sectors; and it can be filed by more than one of the seventeen institutions (the institution rows sum to 2,238). Each such table states the gap where it occurs.
Data source
EPO PATSTAT Global, Spring 2026 edition (patstat-mtc.patstat_2026a) on Google
BigQuery, queried through the mtc.berlin PATSTAT MCP server. Core tables:
tls201_appln, tls206_person, tls207_pers_appln,
tls209_appln_ipc, tls211_pat_publn, tls212_citation,
tls230_appln_techn_field, tls901_techn_field_ipc,
tls904_nuts. All queries are reproduced in queries.sql.
Scope Limitations
- Applicant, not inventor. The 2,197 families are those on which an institution is named as applicant. Research carried out at these institutions but filed by a company or a research institute alone is not counted.
- Name-based scope. A filing under a spelling that matches none of the rules is invisible. The rules were checked against PATSTAT's own harmonisation in both directions and the two gaps that check revealed were closed, but no name-based method can be proven complete.
- Recent years are incomplete. PATSTAT reflects published documents and publication follows filing by roughly 18 months. 2024 (80 families) and to a lesser degree 2023 are below their eventual level. No trend statement in this report rests on those years, and the two period windows end in 2022 for the same reason.
- Grant rates are lower bounds. Even the 2013–2020 cohort contains pending applications. PCT applications are excluded from all grant rates because they cannot grant.
- The regional sections use a different basis. The regional-context and research-ecosystem sections rest on EP applications with geocoded inventors, because district level NUTS codes exist only on EP person records. Organisations that never file at the EPO are invisible there, and those figures cannot be added to or compared with the name-based university figures.
-
Partner names are PATSTAT-harmonised. The co-applicant table groups by
han_name, which splits Fraunhofer and Leibniz IPHT across two spellings each; their true joint-family counts are at or above the values shown. - Inventor identity is not resolved. Inventor names are normalised only by upper-casing. Counts of distinct inventors are therefore not reported.
Glossary — patent terms explained
- DOCDB patent family
- A group of patent applications covering the same invention in different countries. Counting families rather than applications avoids counting one invention many times.
- Applicant vs. inventor
- The applicant owns the application; the inventor created the invention. In PATSTAT the role is a property of the person–application pair, not of the person.
- PCT / WO application
- An international application under the Patent Cooperation Treaty. It reserves the right to file in many countries later; it never itself becomes a patent.
- EP / DPMA
- The European Patent Office and the German Patent and Trade Mark Office — the two routes most German universities use.
- Utility model (Gebrauchsmuster)
- A German registered right granted without substantive examination, with a shorter term than a patent.
- NUTS
- The EU's regional classification. DED is Saxony, DEG is Thuringia; level 3 codes identify individual districts.
- WIPO 35 technology fields
- A standard mapping from IPC symbols to 35 technology fields grouped into five sectors, used for comparing portfolios across technologies.
- Forward citation
- A later patent document citing an earlier one. Frequently cited families are usually those others had to work around.
- han_name
- PATSTAT's harmonised applicant name. Useful as a cross-check, but as this report documents, not reliable enough to define a scope.
Report Files
Every figure in this report comes from a query executed in the session that produced it. The
complete SQL — the frozen scope definition and every analytical query — is in
queries.sql alongside this report, with the PATSTAT and classification editions in
its header. The queries can be re-run unchanged against the same edition to reproduce every
number shown.
Like what you see?
This report was built with a fully reproducible pipeline: EPO PATSTAT Global on BigQuery, a
custom MCP server, and Claude AI for analysis and visualization. Every number in it traces back
to a query in queries.sql.